Blog Update!

Standard

Hello lovely ladies, littles, and maybe even some papas!

I want to take a minute to share some news about Excerpts From Space: I will now be doing 1 new blog post per week and an extensive resources page will be coming soon as well!

Now, when I first made this blog, I planned on writing posts as often as I could, and I have managed to stick to that thus far. However, throughout June and July I worked 7 days a week for almost 2 months straight (as a chef and yoga studio receptionist) so I didn’t have much time to really sit down and write. Every day I went to work, came home exhausted, made my boyfriend and myself a gigantic dinner, and tuned out for the rest of the evening. It was really all I could do to get through working SO much at such a stressful and draining job (as a chef that is, the yoga studio is a blissful breeze to spend my time at).
After 7 weeks, the stress, lack of sleep and lack of me-time finally took its toll physically. I was breaking out, constantly dizzy, I lost almost 10 pounds, and started experiencing a host of headaches, digestive issues, and a whole bunch of lovely little things my body did in response to the constant extreme stress. Honestly, I didn’t realize what a toll it took or just how grueling it was until I finally stopped and just breathed for a couple of days.
I think self-nourishment is the most important thing for us to do on a daily basis and so I decided to do the best thing I could for myself: I took a week off. This week off took place in the middle of my cafe changing owners, so when the new owner decided to close our space for 1 week in preparation for our big grand re-opening, I ended up with 2 weeks off. 2 weeks off!!! Oh what bliss, what joy!

I was finally able to sit down and write one of those long blog posts that I can’t help but pump out when I have the time and space to do so. Now, I am about to go back to working 7 days a week for awhile, probably another 2 months. I’m a little hesitant to get back into that, but I committed myself to helping our cute little cafe succeed and become great again. These weekly posts probably won’t become consistent until these 2 months have passed, but I am intent on doing so. That was my original plan with this blog, but my schedule made that a little difficult :)

On top of the increased frequency of posts, I will be adding a resources page. I have around 2,000 pregnancy and childbirth related bookmarks that I have been collecting since I first dove into the birth world 4 years ago. These resources have helped me tremendously and I feel everyone has the right to access them. Since they have taken me so long to acquire, I think it’s a little selfish to keep them all to myself, don’t you? It will take me a little while to organize them (that 2,000 number grows everyday) and it will be a constantly growing source for you to refer to. Anytime an important new study comes out, or a breakthrough is made in the medical or midwifery world, you will know about it!

Also, you are always welcome to comment or email me at carina_trinidad@yahoo.com with questions, suggestions of a topic you would like me to write about, or even information requests. As a well-connected doula, I have fantastic resources at my disposal, and the point of having those is to share them with you! So please, do not hesitate to ask, and remember: Your body is perfect. It knows how and when to birth. You are not broken, the system is. Listen to your heart and instincts and be the beautiful human you are. Love yourself. Treat your bodies well and nourish the people, greenery, and love around you. I will talk to all of you lovelies soon!

Glowing after some very necessary self-nourishment at the beautiful Long Beach harbor-front park with the man in my life :)

2 responses »

What's your opinion?